31 Days of Yoga Challenge Finished!

11802541_10153095612361295_2846673964437558300_o
My Cat and I Getting Our Yoga On!

 

I have made it through 31 days of yoga and beyond!  Though I definitely feel the benefits, it hasn’t always been easy.  There have been days where I didn’t want to hit the mat and days that I wanted to quit early, but I didn’t.   I stuck by the program I picked and I couldn’t be happier.

I have done yoga before, but took time off from a regular practice so this was just what I needed to get back on track.  This year, I am in the mindset that you only have today, so quit putting this off and get it done.  Regret doesn’t look good on anyone.

Some of the benefits I have noticed:

  • Less anxiety.
  • Better sleep patterns ( I have insomnia).
  • Better breathing.
  • More toned through out my body.
  • More acceptance of myself and others.
  • Better digestion.  Way less bloating which is a huge plus!
  • Fewer “blue” moments.
  • More flexibility.   My flexibility has always been questionable which got in the way of dance in the past.  It has been theorized that I gained muscle too quickly as a child and never gained the flexibility because of this.  What can I say?  I was a hyper child!

It’s amazing what a little yoga practice can do even in the span of only one month.  The benefits are so amazing.  I have been here before, but sticking with things long term have always been a struggle for me, which brings me to my cons:

  • Doing yoga daily is no easy feat for someone like myself.   I really am not great at sticking with things which in many ways can be a downfall as you can imagine.  This was a real struggle at times.  Especially when going out on the weeknights.  There were times that I came home to honor the practice, but it was not the best circumstances.  I like to get my drink on here and there.
  • Also, some days you just aren’t feeling it making the practice counterproductive.  This happened a few times.  I would come home tired from the day only to find that I had one more thing I needed to do, making it a chore.  Once I started it, I felt better, but somedays the best therapy is not to do yoga.
  • Pushing things too far.  I am in decent shape, but sometimes, I tend to move quickly into poses as I am a very competitive person, even with myself!  Also, some of my postures were off, especially in my neck causing some strain.  Even though I know I needed to take it easy, I would push it again the next day instead of working on my problems spots or resting my neck.  I am a go getter for sure, but not always in the best way possible!

So where does a girl go from here?  Onto the next month!  I would like to continue my streak though February, but I may ease up a little if needed.  A break here and there would be beneficial and I shouldn’t look at it as a failure if I decide to let a day go.  It’s better than making something I want to succeed at become a burden, but with that being said, I have to make sure I don’t get too conformable and let it go completely.

*In case you were wondering what program I used, it was one that I have watched periodically on YouTube.  The course is called Yoga with Adrienne.   Adrienne, is the type of person I could see myself hanging out with over a few beers on the weekend.  She is very chill, very likeable and very down to earth.

What I like about her yoga sessions are that they are set for all levels.  She really focuses a lot on the self and how you can improve as a whole being—mentally as well as physically.  Because of this, her videos tend to go at a slower pace than some of the others.  Also, she is really great at explaining the best ways for people at various levels to hit postures.   Very positive experience.

For me, I do feel as if her lessons can be a little slow and less challenging for me, but that is my preference and skill level.  Also, there are a lot of postures that occur on the knees, so if you have bad knees, be prepared with extra padding.  I personally am not a fan of these poses as much as others, but again these are personal preferences.  That being said, I would continue with her any day of the week.  She really is an enjoyable presence.

So, here’s to another 28 days!

Leave a Reply

